Three Brazilians are running for the Volleyball Hall of Fame; see who they are

Three Brazilians are running for the Volleyball Hall of Fame; see who they are
Three Brazilians are running for the Volleyball Hall of Fame; see who they are

Brazil can have new representatives in the Volleyball Hall of Fame. Three names are running in 2024. Part of the process is done through popular voting, open until April 14, open and free at

Former players Adriana Samuel It is Ana Paula Henkel are in the beach volleyball category. Each one has a unique candidacy, different from Brazilians Shelda and Adriana Behar, who are already in the Hall of Fame, but as a duo, for working together. Adriana and Ana Paula compete with the North American Elaine Youngsbronze at the Marseille World Games in 1999 and at the Athens Olympic Games in 2004.

In the technical category, it is indicated José Roberto Guimarãesformer player and coach for the men’s team, for which he won gold in the Barcelona 1992 Olympic Games. In command of the women’s team, of which he is currently the coach, he also climbed to the highest place on the podium at the Olympic Games. Beijing 2008 It is London 2012in addition to silver in Tokyo 2020. The coach’s opponents are the Norwegian Kare Molthe Polish Alexander Skiba and the Cuban Gilberto Herrera.

Three-time gold medalist as coach of the volleyball teams, José Roberto competes with three other candidates. Photograph: Wander Roberto/CBV

Brazilian Adriana Samuel was champion of the 1993 Hague World Games. She also won silver and bronze at the Olympics. Atlanta 1996 It is Sydney 2000, respectively. Currently, Adriana works as a manager at Team Petrobras, which sponsors 45 athletes, including Isaquias Queiroz, Arthur Nory and Daniel Dias, for example. She also coordinates the social projects Sem Barreiras and Escola de Volei Adriana Samuel, which integrate children through sport in Rio, in addition to Gaming Parque, which offers free livestream classes, mobile games and complementary courses.

Ana Paula Henkel She was a three-time Volleyball Grand Prix champion, participating in the team that won gold in the 1994, 1996 and 1998 editions. She was also an Olympic medalist in Atlanta 1996, winning bronze. Ana Paula also won silver at the 1995 Volleyball World Cup and the 1994 World Championship.

How does the election for the Volleyball Hall of Fame work?

In the first stage, fans can vote for as many candidates as they want. The six candidates with the most votes will receive one more in the official count, from which the Hall of Fame’s International Selection Committee selects the class of 2024.

Each living honoree is a voting member of the committee. To be elected, the candidate must have a majority of 75% of the total votes received. The results will be announced on May 20th. The celebration takes place at a ceremony on October 19th in Holyoke, Massachusetts, the birthplace of volleyball.

Brazil has 20 representatives in the Volleyball Hall of Fame. Shelda and Adriana Behar count as a duo. In addition to them, Nalbert, Giovane, Giba, Bebeto de Freitas, Maurício, Loiola, Zé Marco, Ana Moser, Nuzman, Sandra Pires, Fofão, Bernard, Emanuel, Ricardo, Serginho, Jackie Silva, Renan, Fernanda Venturini and Bernardinho are honored. .

The article is in Portuguese

Tags: Brazilians running Volleyball Hall Fame



PREV ‘Thermometer’ of Olympic volleyball teams
NEXT Sinner is already thinking about clay with a focus on Roland Garros