Only one Serie A club does not have a place in the 2025 Copa do Brasil < In Attack

Only one Serie A club does not have a place in the 2025 Copa do Brasil < In Attack
Only one Serie A club does not have a place in the 2025 Copa do Brasil < In Attack
Brazilian Cup Cup
(photo: Lucas Figueiredo/CBF)

Botafogo won the Rio Cup this Sunday (31/3) and guaranteed a place in the 2025 Copa do Brasil. With the confirmation of the black and white team from Rio in the next edition of the tournament, only one club that will compete in Series A of this year’s Brazilian Championship runs the risk of being left out.

Eliminated in the first phase of the Campeonato Paulista, Corinthians is the only club from the national elite that failed to secure its presence in next year’s Copa do Brasil. Timão can still get his place through the Brazilian Championship.

Among the teams competing in Series B in 2024, the number of clubs without a place in the Copa do Brasil is even greater – there are eight teams: Avaí, Botafogo-SP, Chapecoense, Goiás, Guarani, Ituano, Mirassol and Ponte Preta.

Vacancies for the 2025 Copa do Brasil

The 2025 Copa do Brasil will feature 92 clubs, with 53 teams already confirmed in the next edition. 80 places will be distributed via state championships or cups.

Those qualified for the Libertadores via Brasileiro and the champions of Copa Verde, Copa do Nordeste and Série B also qualify for the competition and enter directly into the third phase.

If there are still vacancies left, they will be filled by the teams with the best campaign in Series A.

Teams classified for the 2025 Copa do Brasil


  • Amazon: Amazon.
  • Pará: Paysandu and Remo.
  • Tocantins: União-TO and Tocantinópolis.

North East

  • Alagoas: CRB and ASA
  • Bahia: Barcelona de Ilhéus, Bahia and Vitória.
  • Ceará: Ceará and Fortaleza.
  • Pernambuco: Sport, Nautical and Retro.
  • Piauí: Altos and Parnahyba.
  • Rio Grande do Norte: América-RN.


  • Federal District: Capital-DF and Ceilândia.
  • Goiás: Atlético-GO, Vila Nova and Aparecidense.
  • Mato Grosso: União Rondonópolis and Cuiabá.


  • Espírito Santo: Rio Branco-VN and Rio Branco-ES.
  • Minas Gerais: Atlético, Cruzeiro, América, Athletic and Tombense.
  • Rio de Janeiro: Botafogo, Fluminense, Flamengo, Vasco and Nova Iguaçu.
  • São Paulo: Santos, Palmeiras, Novorizontino, Red Bull Bragantino and São Paulo.


  • Paraná: Athletico-PR, Coritiba, Cascavel, Maringá and Operário.
  • Rio Grande do Sul: Grêmio, Internacional, Juventude and Caxias.
  • Santa Catarina: Criciúma and Brusque.

The article is in Portuguese

Tags: Serie club place Copa Brasil Attack



PREV Adidas goes from euphoria to silence after being favorite to return to Palmeiras
NEXT Sinner is already thinking about clay with a focus on Roland Garros