Arena MRV will host the 50th classic of the century. Who gets the best? check out

Arena MRV will host the 50th classic of the century. Who gets the best? check out
Arena MRV will host the 50th classic of the century. Who gets the best? check out

Atlético and Cruzeiro will edit on Saturday (3), at Arena MRV, the 50th classic of the 21st century; Check the numbers of the clashes and see who has the best

Montage shows Cruzeiro and Atlético fans | Photo: Editing: Vinnicius Silva/Cruzeiro – Bruno Cantini/Atlético

This Saturday’s classic (3), at 7:30 pm, at Arena MRV, for the third round of the Campeonato Mineiro, will be the 50th between Atlético and Cruzeiro this century. And analyzing the numbers may surprise fans on both sides.

Since 2001, the two clubs have faced each other 49 times, across the most different competitions, from the now extinct Copa Sul Minas and Primeira Liga to the traditional Campeonato Mineiro, Copa do Brasil, and Campeonato Brasileiro.

In the general numbers of these clashes, the celestial team has a slight advantage. There were 19 wins for Cruzeiro, 16 draws and 14 wins for Atlético. But it is necessary to emphasize that this ‘margin’ of Raposa was practically only built in the first decade of the century.

From 2001 to 2010, the arch-rivals faced each other 21 times, with Raposa winning ten and Atlético just five. There were still five draws.

From then on, the situation began to change. In the following decade, the balance was general: in the 24 clashes held from 2011 to 2020, Cruzeiro celebrated three points eight times, Atlético seven and there were still nine draws.

In the most recent duels, from 2021 onwards, the small advantage belongs to Atlético, who won two of the four clashes, compared to just one for Cruzeiro. There was also a draw.

When the question under analysis is the number of victories in the Campeonato Mineiro this century, the slight advantage goes to the black and white side. While Galo won ten State Cups from 2001 onwards, Raposa won nine times.

In the 21st century, the Minas Gerais titles were not held by the duo in 2001 and 2016 (America) and 2005 (Ipatinga). In 2002, Caldense won the Campeonato Mineiro, but clubs from the capital were not in contention. They would later compete in the ‘Supercampeonato Mineiro’.

49 Mineiro classics in the 21st century:

2001 to 2010: 10 wins for Cruzeiro, 6 draws, 5 wins for Atlético – 37 goals for Cruzeiro, 25 goals for Atlético

2011 to 2020: 8 wins for Cruzeiro, 9 draws, 7 wins for Atlético – 28 goals scored by each team

2021 onwards: 2 wins for Atlético, 1 draw, 1 win for Cruzeiro – six goals for Atlético, 4 goals for Cruzeiro

Total: 19 wins for Cruzeiro, 16 draws, 14 wins for Atlético – 69 goals for Cruzeiro, 59 goals for Atlético

Mineiro titles in the period (2001 to 2023):

Atlético: 10
Cruise: 9
America: 2
Ipatinga: 1

Atlético’s Minas Gerais titles in the period: 2007, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2017, 2020, 2021, 2022 and 2023.

Cruzeiro Minas Gerais titles in the period: 2003, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2014, 2018 and 2019.

THE TIME reinforces the commitment to quality, professional and Minas Gerais journalism. Our newsroom produces responsible information every day that you can trust.

Follow THE TIME on Facebook, on Twitter and on Instagram. Help grow our community.

The article is in Portuguese

Tags: Arena MRV host #50th classic century check



PREV Top scorer in finals in Palmeiras history: Veiga is the main weapon in the Super Cup decision | palm trees
NEXT Grupo City advances in negotiations with the government to build a new CT in Bahia; know the location